RADHA  PANDEY

Natural Dye + Paper Bojagi

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/5

Click to Enlarge Images

What will you learn?

In this unique two-session offering, participants will learn how to extract dyes using natural materials for application on paper, and patch together their dyed papers into a beautiful collage based on traditional Korean wrapping cloths called "bojagi." Patchwork bojagi is a traditional type of folk art using discarded cloth scraps. 

 

There are two sessions total. During the first session, taught by Radha Pandey,  students will learn brush-dyeing and in the process, learn how to prepare dyestuffs and mordants needed for their projects. Radha will demonstrate how to prepare dye materials, how to apply them to paper and how to dry the papers so that students may use them for the second session.

 

The second session will take place the following week and is taught by Steph Rue. During the second session, students will use their naturally dyed papers to create a small paper bojagi. Steph will demonstrate how to apply paste to adhere the dyed paper together and how to use an iron to quickly adhere and dry them. She will also share examples of bojagi made with dyed paper as well as examples in cloth. Students will receive PDF handouts with resources and detailed instructions on how to finish their bojagi with a border after the workshop. 



What is the duration of the class?

Session 1: Sunday, March 21, 9–11am PST (California), 6–8 pm CEST (Sweden)

Instructor: Radha Pandey

 

Session 2: Sunday, March 28, 10am–12pm PST (California), 7–9 pm CEST (Sweden)

Instructor: Steph Rue

 


What materials do I need to participate?
When you register, you have the option of paying for a kit that will be mailed to you. This option is available to US-based participants only.

If you choose not to purchase a kit with your registration, you will receive a complete materials list (along with links) to purchase or gather what you need so that you may be able to follow along in class.

 

What is in the materials kit available for purchase?

  • Mordant (Alum, 15g)

  • Natural dyestuff (Logwood, 2g)

  • Wheat starch (2 tbsp)

  • Instructions for how to prepare wheat paste

  • One large (25x36”) sheet of hanji, 30gsm

  • Several small pieces of interfacing



What is the fee and class size?

The fee for this workshop is $100. This does not include the $35 optional material kit, which can be purchased separately. 

 

Space is limited to 10 participants of which 5 spots are reserved for self-identified people of color.

Please note that international participants are welcome, but the material kit is only available to US-based participants.



Registration closes on March 7, 2021. To register, click on the appropriate link below:

Registration is full.