RADHA  PANDEY

Natural Dye + Paper Bojagi

1/5

Click to Enlarge Images

What will you learn?

In this unique two-session offering, participants will learn how to extract dyes using natural materials for application on paper, and patch together their dyed papers into a beautiful collage based on traditional Korean wrapping cloths called "bojagi." Patchwork bojagi is a traditional type of folk art using discarded cloth scraps. 

 

There are two sessions total. During the first session, taught by Radha Pandey,  students will learn brush-dyeing and in the process, learn how to prepare dyestuffs and mordants needed for their projects. Radha will demonstrate how to prepare dye materials, how to apply them to paper and how to dry the papers so that students may use them for the second session.

 

The second session will take place the following week and is taught by Steph Rue. During the second session, students will use their naturally dyed papers to create a small paper bojagi. Steph will demonstrate how to apply paste to adhere the dyed paper together and how to use an iron to quickly adhere and dry them. She will also share examples of bojagi made with dyed paper as well as examples in cloth. Students will receive PDF handouts with resources and detailed instructions on how to finish their bojagi with a border after the workshop. 



What is the duration of the class? This class has two offerings in 2021.
 

First Offering

Session 1: Sunday, July 11, 9–11am PST (California), 6–8 pm CEST (Sweden)

Instructor: Radha Pandey

 

Session 2: Sunday, July 18, 10am–12pm PST (California), 7–9 pm CEST (Sweden)

Instructor: Steph Rue

Second Offering

Session 1: Sunday, Aug 29, 9–11am PST (California), 6–8 pm CEST (Sweden)

Instructor: Radha Pandey

 

Session 2: Sunday, Sep 5, 10am–12pm PST (California), 7–9 pm CEST (Sweden)

Instructor: Steph Rue

 

Note: This class will be recorded and the recording will be available to participants for three weeks after the class. After this, the recording will be made available for purchase via this website.


What materials do I need to participate?

Materials you will need to gather or purchase include: a pot, burner, plexiglas plate, a ruler, cutting mat, x-acto knife, etc. After you register, you will receive a complete materials list (along with links) to gather what you need so that you may be able to follow along in class. 

 

You have the option of purchasing a materials kit that will be mailed to you (see below). The material kit is available to US-based participants only. If you choose not to purchase the kit, you will need to gather these materials on your own in order to follow along in class.

 

What is in the $40 materials kit ?

  • Mordant (Alum, 15g)

  • Natural dyestuff (Logwood, 2g)

  • Wheat starch (2 tbsp)

  • Instructions for how to prepare wheat paste

  • One large (25" x 36”) sheet of hanji, 30gsm

  • Several small pieces of interfacing


What is the fee and class size?

The fee for this workshop is $150. This does not include the $40 optional material kit, which can be purchased separately. 

For future workshops we hope to provide scholarships for BIPOC; if you are interested in contributing toward this effort please get in touch.

 

BIPOC Application Period: May 13–21 (winners notified Sat May 22). Fill out the Application Form.
General Registration Opens: Sunday May 23, 9am PST

Space is limited to 10 participants of which 5 spots are reserved for self-identified people of color.

Please note that international participants are welcome but extra materials postage fee applies.

 

General Registration Opens Sunday, May 23, 2021. Remember to select the dates relevant to your class.